Skip to content ↓


Runcton Holme CE Primary and Wormegay CE Primary have worked together for many years. We initially formed a partnership with a shared Headteacher in 2003. The schools kept their own separate governing bodies until January 2012 when we formed the Federation of Holy Cross Schools. Throughout this time, the schools have benefited from sharing expertise, resources, and visits, and this has increased over the years. After careful consideration, the governing body of the Holy Cross Schools decided to join the Diocese of Ely Multi Academy Trust (DEMAT), and this took place in October 2014. Please see below for scheme of delegation.

Model of Governance from September 2019
Given the size of the LGB and the challenge of recruiting local governors, the Trust is adopting a more focused mixed model of governance that involves the Trust Central Team and a small number of local governors.  This mixed model is essential to ensure governance at Runcton Holme and Wormegay is in alignment with the Trust’s Vision and Strategic Plan, and to ensure  all statutory duties are carried out through appropriate checks and balances, as well as making sure effective support and challenge of the Headteacher. 

There will be no chair of governors, however a new Standards and Ethos Committee has been established to focus on the governance of the Quality of Education.  It is chaired by a nominated chair from the Trust and its membership is a mixture of local governors, staff governors and the Headteacher.  It is clerked by the Runcton Holme Officer Manager.

The focus for this committee is:

  • Teaching and Learning/Curriculum
  • SEN, Pupil Premium and Sports Premium
  • Behaviour
  • Attendance
  • Safeguarding, including SCR
  • Complaints
  • Approving school-based policies

The committee terms of reference can be found below.

Formal reporting takes place via the Headteacher and Standards and Committee through a written headteacher report.  The Chair of Standards and Ethos provides a written report  to the Trust’s Performance Director every term to provide a summary of the school’s position.  

The Trust is using its existing systems and processes within the Central Team to carry out appropriate checks and balances for the following statutory duties;;

  • Finance, including Pupil Premium/Sports Premium
  • Health & Safety Compliance
  • Premises
  • Human Resources (HR Manager)
  • SIAMs

The Headteacher still retains the responsibility for health and safety at school level in line with the Trust Health and Safety Policy and Statement.

The Trust supplements this approach further by carrying out additional checks and balances to ensure good governance is in place through its Education Team, , Inclusion and Safeguarding visits and external audits.  School performance and risks are routinely reviewed, and appropriate support, challenge and mitigation is actioned. 

Governor List 2020-2021


Governor Type





Pecuniary Interests


Diane Stygal



Su Read



Sarah Hayman


Deidre Dyer

Appointed Member: DEMAT nominated


Appointed Member : Diocesan Board of Education nominated


Parent Member


Parent Member

27 Sept 2019



01 Oct 2018



26 Nov 2015


Nov 2018

26 Sept 2023



30 Sep 2022



31 August 2021


Nov 2022

SEND/Vulnerable Groups            Safeguarding           Art/Music

Maths/PE   Attendance  Sports Premium 


 English/ Humanities 


Science/ Technology/ Computing












Sue Fowl

Staff Member

Sept 2018

31 Aug 2021



Rachael Waterson

Staff Member

Jan 2019

Jan 2022



Emma Zeil

Principal : ex-officio





Meeting Attendance 2019-2020

Y = Attended, N = Apologies Accepted, NA = Apologies not Accepted, NS = No Apologies sent
NE = No longer a member of staff, R = Resigned


Governor Type






June 20
Emma Zeil Headteacher Y Y See Note below See Note below  
Diane Stygal Chair Y Y See Note below See Note below  
Su Read Appointed Member : Diocesan Board of Education nominated Y N See Note below See Note below  
Sarah Hayman Parent Y Y See Note below See Note below  
Rachael Waterson Staff Y Y See Note below See Note below  
Deidre Dyer Parent N Y See Note below See Note below  
Jacqueline McCamphill DEMAT - Chair Y N
See Note below See Note below  

Note:  Following the Covid-19 outbreak no further SEC meeting were held after the 16th January 2020 however a copy of the Heads Report was issued to all members in April and June 2020.


Our minutes are all on GovernorHub and our clerk has access to them if required.